Busy Weekend

This weekend was busy and is continuing until Tuesday. We were blessed with multiple visitors this weekend. My parents arrived for a short visit, a good friend that I hadn’t seen in almost a year stopped by, and a family friend came up from Vancouver. That made a non stop weekend.

To add to all the new faces for my little man. He is working hard on cutting his second tooth which has created some extra fussiness. He still gives me the biggest smiles and warmed up to most of the visitors too. I have lost some sleep though due to teeth, slight increase in temperature and visitors.

I also have made some great meals this week. Sorry for no pictures as I am still getting the hang of blogging. But on Saturday I made smoked chipotle bacon wrapped chicken. I made the spice rub to put on the chicken then wrapped it with the bacon and cooked for 40 minutes in the oven at 375 degrees. It was delicious but a bit spicy for my mom so she add sour cream to it. We also enjoyed delicious fresh berries from the farmer’s market.

Then yesterday for lunch was a whole spread of creamy parmesan crested tilapia, grilled yellow zucchini, and a delicious summer salad with blueberries, almonds, goat cheese topped with poppy dressing. My guests add rolls and an oreo cake. I am not a great cook for fish but the tilapia came out perfect because I just used the boiler and cooked it for two minutes, flipped it then cooked it for another three minutes before topping it with the creamy parmesan topping. Once it was topped I placed it back in the boiler for another 5 minutes to get the topping nice and browned. It was a wonderful meal added with great fellowship.

Today is a just with my parents so it is an more relaxing day. I went to bed last night at 9:20 as David didn’t go down until 9 and I was exhausted. I am thankful for the blessing of friends and family. It is a delight to host them in my house.

Recipes:

Bacon Wrapped Smoky Chicken Thighs (you can cut this in half or in 4ths’)

  • 12 bone in, skinless chicken thighs
  • 24 slices of bacon
  • 2 tsp. smoky spice blend (see below)

Preheat oven to 375.  Sprinkle chicken thighs with the smoky spicy blend.  Wrap each thigh in  2 slices bacon.  Bake for 40 minutes.  Serving size = 2 chicken thighs

Smoky Spice Blend:

  • 1 tbs. Chipolte powder
  • 1 tbs. smoked paprika
  • 1 tbs. onion powder
  • ½ tbs. cinnamon
  • 1 tbs. sea salt
  • ½ tbs. black pepper

Creamy Parmesan Topped Tilapia

  • 3 tbsp. grated Parmesan
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. softened butter (I just leave mine out on the counter)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. fat free plain greek yogurt or sour cream
  • 1/8 tsp. ranch dip mix
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp. dried basil
  • 1/8 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/8 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • Four 4-oz. raw tilapia (or other flaky white fish) fillets

Preheat broiler. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray and set aside. In a small bowl, combine all ingredients except the fish. Mix well and set aside. Arrange fillets in a single layer on the baking sheet. Broil for 3 minutes. Gently flip the fillets over and broil for 2 more minutes. Remove sheet from broiler, but leave broiler on. Evenly spread the Parm mixture over the fillets, about 1 heaping tablespoon each. Broil until fish is cooked through and topping is lightly browned, 5 – 7 minutes, checking often to ensure it doesn’t burn. Serve and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Busy Weekend

Leave a Reply

