Creative Cauliflower

This past week I have been making food that is delicious but healthy as well. When looking at pictures you might be surprised to find out they are made of. Here are two of my dinners this past week.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust
Cauliflower Pizza Crust
Braised chicken with cauliflower mash
Braised chicken with cauliflower mash

So both of these meals were made with cauliflower but used in a creative way. But they were all easy to make. The first one, the cauliflower pizza, was just shredded cauliflower mixed with mozzarella cheese, an egg, and spices. You can shredded the cauliflower in a blender, food processor, grater or a veggie shredder. I used the last one because I just got it from Pampered Chef.

I love Pampered Chef!! Most everything that I use over and over again as come from there.

Back to making the pizza crust. After you shredded the cauliflower you cook two cups (about half a head) in the microwave for 8 minutes. Be careful if you use a blender or food processor that you don’t over shredded it and don’t add any water to the cauliflower. Once it is microwave let it cool and then add the rest of the ingredients. I put oregano and garlic powder in my crust to give it more of a pizza flavor but you can use whatever you want. Once it is mixed together just place it on the pizza pan and pat to the right thickness. It makes between a 8 – 12 inch pizza. Cook that at 350 for about 15 minutes until it is brown on top. The add your toppings and broil for just a few minutes to melt the cheese.

And you are a done! A veggie pizza.

My other meal was braised chicken with cauliflower mash. The cauliflower mash was super easy. You can use fresh or frozen cauliflower. I used a full fresh head of cauliflower. You boil the cauliflower after you have cut it up until it is soft. Then transfer to a bowl and add three laughing cow cheese wedges and garlic powder with salt and pepper. Once all your ingredients are together you mix with a hand held mixer until it looks like mashed potatoes. This is super easy too. And very delicious.

My last thing that I like doing with cauliflower is making rice with it. This one might be the easiest. I just put fresh cauliflower cut in to my blender for a few seconds so it is shredded. Then transfer about a cup to a microwave bowl and cook for 2-3 minutes. It is soft but still holds it shape and works as a great substitute for rice. If you are making a stir fry you can just add the blended rice into that without cooking it or make fried rice. I always separate the rice into one cup servings and freeze my extra so it is on hand for my next meal that needs rice.

This is a great way to up your veggie intake or if you need to replace grains with a veggie. Have you used a veggie in a creative way?

Leave a Reply

