Babysitting List

As a new mom you don’t want to leave your precious baby so you can take them along on dates with your husband and all your appointments and meetings. But there comes a time when your child becomes too active that it isn’t best to take them along because they are too much of a distraction. I have just now hit that point but I didn’t think about it ahead of time so I don’t have a solid babysitting list yet.

I know for many new mothers find a solid babysitting list isn’t hard because they live near family so you have grandparents, aunts/uncles and cousins that are more then willing to watch the new baby. I have experienced this when we were visiting our family in Arizona. It was just the second real date my husband and I have had since having our little man. My mother watched him while we went out to eat and enjoyed a movie. I know it was easy because he slept most of the time but it was beautiful freedom for us.

I know of friends that have set time every other week for date night because their parents watch the baby. When I hear that I wish we lived closer to our family. I know if we were closer then both of our parents would want to babysit occasionally just like my mom did for us when we were visiting. It is one of the benefits you don’t realize how wonderful it is to be near family until you aren’t.

Well this past month I have felt the need to really get on a date night but I realized we don’t have any babysitters that we can call. I thought of one that might be good but it didn’t end up working out. I would like to have just a few regular babysitters who get to know my little man and will watch him grow. I like the idea of consistency.

Now I think I will have a good list in a few weeks as I reached out to friends for suggestions. I contacted my friend who is the youth director’s wife at church to see if she knew of any good teenager girls that would be interested in babysitting. I also asked an old coworker at Gap about her daughter and she gave me one of the best suggestions instead. It was too ask another old coworker from Gap who loves children and is an brand new empty nester. That was a wonderful idea because I couldn’t ask for a better babysitter for my son.

So I do see my husband and I getting on a date in the next couple weeks! And I see a list growing so when it comes to holidays and other events then we can easily say yes. Through my struggle I would encourage new moms to start looking in the first few months of motherhood before they really want to get away. It will make it smoother when you feel the need. And for me, it was one of the lists that I didn’t think of building in advance.

WP_20150914_028
My husband’s Aunt with our little man
WP_20150914_013
Grandma P enjoying her grandson
WP_20150910_012
My mom reading to our little man
Leave a Reply

