Let Them Be Little

Last night right before bed I was listening to the country music station on the tv and the song came on “Let Them Be Little” by Billy Dean. I have always loved that song but now sitting with my beautiful 8 month old little boy sleeping in the other rooms it has more meaning then ever before.

A week old
A week old

With every line of the song it brings a picture to my mind of my little boy. The smile that he flashes whenever I walk into the room. The big belly laugh he has when Samson runs up to us. The snuggles that he gives me. And oh how fast he has grown in 8 months.

I can’t believe that 8 months ago I was holding a completely helpless babe and now that little one is crawling all over the house and pulling up to try to stand. And he has 6 teeth and eating solid food. I am going to do my best to let him be little because I know it goes way too fast because it already has.

WP_20151017_005

My 8 month old

~And lastly, I have never known such a love for one. I love my husband but my love for my son it completely different.

If you don’t know the song here are the lyrics:

“I can remember when you fit in the palm of my hand
Felt so good in it, no bigger than a minute
And how it amazes me, you’re changin’ with every blink
Faster than a flower blooms they grow up all too soon

So let them be little ’cause they’re only that way for a while
Give them hope, give them praise, give them love every day
Let them cry, let them giggle, let them sleep in the middle
Oh, just let them be little

I’ve never felt so much in one little tender touch
I live for those kisses, prayers and your wishes
And now that you’re teachin’ me things only a child can see
Every night while we’re on our knees all I ask is please

Let them be little ’cause they’re only that way for a while
Give them hope, give them praise, give them love every day
Let them cry, let them giggle, let them sleep in the middle
Oh, just let them be little

So innocent, a precious soul, you turn around
It’s time to let them go

So let them be little ’cause they’re only that way for a while
Give them hope, give them praise, give them love every day
Let them cry, let them giggle, let them sleep in the middle
Oh, just let them be little
Let them be little

Leave a Reply

