Myth or Truth

WP_20140910_002 So I am going to ask a question whether the following statement is a myth or truth for you. Do you believe that the type of pregnancy you have affects the type of baby you have? Such as a hard pregnancy equals an easy baby.

When I was pregnant I refused to believe that a hard pregnancy equals an easy baby because after two miscarriages and what I will detail below as a my hard pregnancy I didn’t want to expect an easy baby. But now looking back in my situation a hard pregnancy did equal an easy baby. Now I still can’t say if that is just because David’s personality is easy going, if it is how I am raising him or what has made him so easy. But David sleeps well, loves playing on his own now, only fusses for food or sleep, and has a quiet cry. Most people don’t even hear him when I think he is being really mad.

Now you have heard about my two losses by now but here is how my third pregnancy went which results in my firstborn son. I didn’t find out I was pregnant until middle of June of 2014 and it was right after we came back from our annual visit to Arizona. It was a mixture of feelings when I got the test results that I was pregnant again. Do I rejoice with the fact we were pregnant again or do I fear for what might be the outcome in less then 8 weeks? After losses the whole pregnancy is emotionally harder.

I headed right into to see my OBGYN and she told me to start taking baby aspirin and gave me a prescription for Progesterone. Now she even told me that these had no medical backing that would increase my chances of keeping the baby but it didn’t do any harm. Once I started taking those my morning sickness hit very hard. Why do they call it morning sickness? Because for me it was morning, noon, and night. It actually got worst in the evening. I believe I did most of my throwing up at night when my husband was home.

So as I was having bad morning sickness I completely stopped exercising. I think this was more due to trying to change any habits that were consistent in the last pregnancy even though I knew exercising didn’t increase you chances of miscarriage. I also could only eat carbs, dairy and fried food. I was really sad about not eating healthier as I had spent the previous two years losing and maintaining a healthy weight. My morning sickness lasted until close to 20 weeks. So much for just a first trimester sign.

My exhaustion was pretty bad too. I would wake up and see my husband off to work and be back in bed for a nap by 10am. The exhaustion kept with my until week 22 or so. I had hoped to go back and work more at Gap after my first trimester but before my baby came. My plan was to use the money I made to cover baby expenses but that really didn’t work out well.

On top of those two normal signs of pregnancy my emotions were all over the place. I could go in for my biweekly ultrasound and that very evening start worrying that the baby was gone. The only peace of mindWP_20141001_002 I had was that I was lifting up this pregnancy with prayer and covering it with God’s Word. This didn’t mean it was a guarantee that I would have the baby but it was a guarantee that God’s plan would happen. I didn’t relax emotionally until after our 20 week anatomy scan when they said all was good and I switched over to the midwives.

I started feeling better about week 24 but I that only lasted for less then a month as at week 27 I woke up with the worse pain ever in my upper right side back. It wouldn’t go away when I walked or stretched. Finally my husband woke up at midnight to me crying. We called both the nurse hotline through our insurance and my midwives. Neither one thought it was the baby but both suggested a hot bath or shower and possibly going to the emergency room.

So I took a hot shower and while in there I vomited and it was red. My husband freaked out thinking it was blood but I reminded him that I had just eaten raspberries with cream before bed. We still rushed to the hospital where we spent the next six hours. Half of that was spent in the maternity emergency room to ensure it wasn’t baby where I did vomit again and the pain started subsiding. I was transferred back to the emergency room where they did an ultrasound on my back and confirmed it was a gallbladder attack and I had multiple gall stones.

Apparently gallbladder attacks are very common in pregnancy especially after multiple pregnancies which I have had even though I didn’t have any children yet. The emergency room sent me away with instructions to visit a general surgeon. My husband and I didn’t know what that meant but it made us nervous. I did visit the general surgeon and since I was headed into my third trimester he didn’t want to remove the gallbladder until after baby boy was born. This did mean though additional doctors visits every month to monitor my gallbladder to make sure an iWP_20150205_002nfection to happen and that I would need emergency surgery.

Two weeks after my gallbladder attack I had an swollen itchy eye that I thought was a bug bite but didn’t go away after a week. I was in Arizona for Thanksgiving and my baby showers when I went to my mom’s doctor and he confirmed that I had shingles. Apparently due to the pregnancy and stress another side affect of pregnancy caused shingles to release in my body. After that I wondered what else could happen before baby came. I was very positive that I would end up with gestational diabetes and was very glad with that came back negative two weeks later.

The last two months didn’t have any more huge flair ups but just became really uncomfortable with sciatic nerve pain. Multiple times a day when I stood up I sharp pain would run down my inner thighs. I couldn’t breath easily. I had terrible heart burn. I wasn’t sleeping and my back was hurting terrible. I really wanted my son to come right at the 37 week, full term mark. But he did wait until 3 days past his due date but I was so glad it wasn’t the normal 10 days.

After my hard pregnancy I did get a relatively short and easy labor that only lasted 13.5 hours. And now I have my easy son. That gives me time to take care of the house, blog, be creative, and serve my church. I look forward to continuing to watch him grow. He is my little man.WP_20140811_005

So what are your thoughts on type of pregnancy versus type of baby?

Leave a Reply

