Day of Destruction

Yesterday was the DAY OF DESTRUCTION!

I was exhausted by 4:30pm. And it didn’t end there.

Oh and the day started off really easy with a casual morning before heading to my MOPs Tea and Testimony. That meant also I only had to deal with my little man for half the day. He was watched for three hours and then slept for an hour and half when we got home.

So what went wrong?

I am working on finished an outdoor bench that my husband made so after I did my Pilates during my little man’s nap I went outside to start staining it. Wouldn’t you know that was right when my little man woke up!

So I brought him downstairs and started giving him lunch which was a variety of leftovers from the tea and some meatballs. This didn’t start off well because my son just was throwing a fit and throwing food as well. So I finally took everything away from him until he calmed down. Then I gave it to him back and he ate just fine.

Once finished he wanted to play outside so I thought I might get some staining done while he did. Nope! He wanted to paint along the side of me so I closed up the stain can and scooped him up and went inside for a bit.

We went on a nice walk when I relaxed a bit. Then I came home and let him play which included letting him go back outside.

Next thing I know I look over and he has the stain can and it is spilling down the side. Oh no! I scoop him up and run to the sink to wash his hands. He also had a snack at this point in his Munchkin cup.

So the stain was all down his arms, a bit on his shirt and in his snacks.

He got made when I took his snack but he wasn’t going to be eating stain!

I then shut the door so he couldn’t come back outside and I proceeded to hose down the patio and the bench of any stain that was spilt. This meant no more playing outside for my little man.

Next thing I was pulling clothes from the dryer that I had just washed that was given to me for my little man when I heard the toilet lid lift and coplunk! Oh no!

My son had just lifted the toilet lid, I believe for the first time, and dropped his Duplo car and little man into the toilet. And then proceeded to start pulling the toilet paper off.

Lucky for me, he doesn’t know how flush the toilet yet.

I take him into the living room to play and I go about trying to cook dinner. I was making cordon blue chicken which was much harder then I thought because my chicken was still slightly frozen and the biggest chicken breasts ever!

So I get that down but in the middle of my cooking David has thrown a few fits because he is hungry. How, I don’t know! Probably because he is a boy but this is his third or fourth snack since his late lunch at 1:30 and it is just past 4:30. He does like food.

I finally tell him to go read a book and he does! But then he goes to find his coloring items and begins to throw his crayons, markers and pencils all over the floor. He does color a bit in the process but I believe making the mess was the bigger goal.

While he is making a mess and dinner is cooking I start folding the laundry. He does try to come get it but I give him only the unfolded laundry. He decides to go get into his Duplos and Dylan’s toys.

So by the time we start dinner the whole house is covered in toys. Even my husband was shocked when he saw almost every corner of the room was covered. My husband even missed the mess of the gold fish I had given him to start dinner that he had pushed all off his high chair and our dog had eaten up.

To just sit and eat dinner was wonderful!

My husband was home and maybe we would be able to relax. We took a stroll with David to get some cupcakes because I really wanted them after my long long afternoon. Good thing we came back the way we walked because David had taken off both of his socks along the way and we hadn’t noticed. But we found both of them!

We come home and it is finally bedtime. Our little man starts playing with a few pool toys that were in his stroller and my husband starts cleaning up the house. But that didn’t last long because the “destructor” came in and pulled down every pile of my folded laundry and then pulled down a row of our dvd’s.

Why? Because Dylan had to jump into the day of destruction with a bloody nail that he had just ran all over the house with even on our furniture so my husband and I were quickly cleaning that up before it dried.

Finally we made it upstairs and were headed for the bath. But before getting in the bath our little man had to pull the hangers all around that were set aside to go downstairs for the laundry.

Then to finish the night before he went to bed as I was dressing him after his bath he peed. I was relieved that is wasn’t over my husband or me but just on the changing pad.

I will remember this day for awhile and am laughing about it. Glad my son can keep me on my toys.

Leave a Reply

